Jefferson Council on Aging Annual Meeting held on January 28th

JCOA Image
JCOA Image
JCOA Image
JCOA Image
Color Guard
JCOA Image
JCOA Image

Jefferson Council on Aging (JCOA) held its 47th Annual Meeting on Saturday, January 28, 2017 at Chateau Golf and Country Club in Kenner. The Council hosted close to 250 seniors from across Jefferson Parish, political dignitaries, members of the JCOA Board of Directors and JCOA staff.

           After the invocation, guests enjoyed the presentation of colors, the Pledge of Allegiance, the National Anthem and God Bless America.  The Annual Meeting began with a welcoming address from Maria De Francesch, the Meeting Chairperson. Keynote Speaker, Parish President Michael S. Yenni, spoke about the relationship between JCOA and the Parish administration and how we both can best meet the needs of our seniors. JCOA Board Chairman, Luis Arocha, then reported on the 2015-16 accomplishments and future endeavors of the Council including the 2017 ground breaking of the North Metairie Riverside Center. The new slate of Board of Directors was elected by the members.

Noted Attendees included: Jefferson Parish Councilman Paul Johnston, Kenner Mayor Ben Zahn and State Senator Rodney Lyons.

           Board Members Gisela Chevalier and Cynthia Jackson were presented Emeritus Plaques to recognize the 6 years of volunteer participation on the board. Luis Arocha recieved a plaque honoring his term as Chairman of the Board.

With a sit down lunch, prize giveaways and member socialization, the JCOA Annual Meeting kicked off 2017 with fanfare and community.

           The 2016 Annual Reports were distributed at the meeting and are available at all seniors and here on our website.


 The 2017 Board of Directors:


Gordon Wadge, Chairman

Jarrett Falcon, Vice-Chairman

Jim Thomas, Treasurer

Doris Rappold, Secretary



Landon Allen

Linda Amedee

Luis Arocha, Jr. 

Miriam Brown

Katherine Carter

Kevin Casey

Kenneth Fleming

Col. John Fortunato

Susan Guidroz

Michael Lulich

France Roemer


To access the 2016 Annual Report click the link below.